PDA

View Full Version : Grappling Institute Boot Camp


Ferret
01-09-2008, 01:56 PM
I saw an ad on Submissions101.com for a "Grappling Institute Boot Camp" to be held in Xenia, OH in March. www.grapplinginstitute.com For like $1,795 you go for a week of training in how to set up and run a profitable grappling/MMA school in any size town. A fellow named Jim Fortunato from Sewell, NJ is the business instructor.

Does anyone know anything about this ? Is it worth the money ? Anyone been thru the course and been successful ? Anything to watch out for ?
Is the guy honest and known in the BJJ or martial arts world or what ?

Just doing my homework is all.

Ari Bolden
01-09-2008, 02:35 PM
Just a note:

I have no control on what google ads show up on my page.

Just a disclaimer.

PS: I'm am also booking seminar dates for 2008.

PSS: Ferret, I deleted your other 4 posts on this topic from the different forums. You on'y need to post it once..otherwise, it get's a bit spammy.

Tom Gavrilos
01-09-2008, 02:43 PM
[QUOTE=Ferret;7965] Is it worth the money ?QUOTE]

It is when your the guy collecting the $1800.00
I dont know the guy or the program but I DO KNOW:
NO ONE can GUARANTEE you success no matter what the field.


Take it from a guy who knows a dozen or so people with their own gyms and how much...or should I say little they make.

My .02c

Tom Gavrilos
01-09-2008, 02:45 PM
Is it worth the money ?

It is when your the guy collecting the $1800.00
I dont know the guy or the program but I DO KNOW:
NO ONE can GUARANTEE you success no matter what the field.


Take it from a guy who knows a dozen or so people with their own gyms and how much...or should I say little they make.

My .02c

Ari Bolden
01-09-2008, 03:44 PM
Yeah, I pull in over a million a year...that is why I work an additional job, sell DVDs via Submissions 101 and work my ass off 70 hours a week!

To be honest, I've never liked webpages like that "We GUARANTEE" stuff. I'd listen to Tom on this one. Again, they guy may be great, but the approach is something to wonder about.

Edit: Further research shows this guy to be a karate instructor (http://www.fortunatokarate.com/documents/home.html). He is using a very well known mcdojo formula and applying it to jiujitsu (such as: http://www.small-dojo-big-profits.com/) . He also has this site as well: http://www.jiujitsu-school.com/

Always remember, BUYER BEWARE. I can't blame the guy for making a living but I've seen this LOTS. I know of many JJ instructors, some of them
famous' too, that don't make thatkind of cash teaching.

Ferret
01-09-2008, 04:19 PM
I was just asking if anyone had been thru this "boot camp" and had any feedback on it. Not, how or who put it on the website here.

The reason I posted it in so many of the forums was to try to reach folks in one forum that may not read in another...ie looking for people who may have purchased the course and have feedback.

Ferret
01-09-2008, 04:23 PM
I think I have my answer now....thanks guys.

Ferret
01-09-2008, 04:54 PM
Got this from the bottom of the page at: http://www.fortunatokarate.com/documents/schedule.html

"Fortunato Karate will be CLOSED on Saturday, March 22nd and Sunday, March 23rd for EASTER Weekend!"

Closed for a religeous holiday or b/c Mar. 22 is the last day of his "Grappling Boot Camp" in Xenia, OH. and mostly likely he'll use the 23rd to travel back home to NJ ??

Grasshoppa is seeing answers to the questions he has asked....

Hadaka Jime
01-09-2008, 07:03 PM
just a heads up... on this forum you only need to post it one time and usually if it is a even semi-valid topic then you well get around 10 solid replies, pretty much every one who post's here reads every question and will try and give you a valid answer, this is a very special forum... in that you can actually ask a question and get a few good answers and never get called out, many people are begginers here and no questions JJ related will be turned down, so ask away and if we can help out in any way we will

Ari Bolden
01-09-2008, 09:37 PM
Well said Brett. Ferret, what answers did you glean from your research?

Tom Gavrilos
01-09-2008, 09:42 PM
just a heads up... on this forum you only need to post it one time and usually if it is a even semi-valid topic then you well get around 10 solid replies, pretty much every one who post's here reads every question and will try and give you a valid answer, this is a very special forum... in that you can actually ask a question and get a few good answers and never get called out, many people are begginers here and no questions JJ related will be turned down, so ask away and if we can help out in any way we will

So very well said bro.

Ryan
01-09-2008, 11:46 PM
I was just asking if anyone had been thru this "boot camp" and had any feedback on it. Not, how or who put it on the website here.

.

Please don't get defensive. Nobody is here to put you down. Ari was just giving you a disclaimer saying that if you sign up and get robbed that he doesn't endorse the advertisements that Google puts on his pages so you don't blame him for your misfortune. Thats all he was saying.

Ari Bolden
01-10-2008, 01:12 AM
I think he got that Ryan. I guess he wanted to know if the money was worth dishing out for such a course. It looks like most guys think "no" at this point.